• Forum help and frequently asked questions
    Help
    • Forum help and frequently asked questions
I don't think I want to be a nurse anymore
Pages 1  2  
Kcrz

8 Posts

Posted:  20-Feb-2014 11:57
I am a Staff Nurse who has been qualified just over 2 years and currently work on an oncology/haematology ward, prior to this I worked on a general medical ward. I was extremely unhappy working on the general medical ward, used to cry before going to work and would dread going to work everyday . I'm slightly happier on my current ward but still get that sense of dread when going to work and when I'm at work I rarely enjoy my job. I feel that I don't have that same amount of compassion and patience with patients that I did when I first started. I just don't think I want to be a nurse anymore but just don't know what else I can do? I just wondered if anyone had any ideas on other options?
Squonk

8 Posts

Posted:  21-Feb-2014 01:29
You are not alone. Are you in a position to emigrate? Maybe another country may suit you better as a nurse. What about community work? Do you want to remain in a caring role or break away completely? I assume (though may be wrong) you're young-ish. In which case you have plenty of time to retrain for something else. It is difficult and jobs are scarce. Do you need, really need, to maintain your current level of income? While nurses whine a lot about wages one only has to look on a site like Directgov to see we're well paid in comparison to many of the other jobs out there, so if you want to get out completely you may have to accept a drop in wages.
Try agency work. Much better paid and no office politics or cliques. You go in, do your job, and forget about it. Also you get plenty of variety and far less paperwork to do. I find working on the same ward very quickly becomes grindingly tedious. The faces change but the job remains the same day in day out.